Searching for my Nevil/Neville “Twigs on the Tree”

Ring of Berra

Genealogy is a journey taken one step at a time.  Starting with yourself and going back one generation at a time.  This photo is an excellent example of going on this journey.  You never quite know where you are going when you begin the search backwards.

I have had a lot of people say, “Oh, I am descended from …….!”  They might be, but start with yourself and take one step at a time. Let the records and documents lead the way.  Oral traditions are good, but not proof!

I took this photo on the Ring of Berra in Ireland. My genealogy journey is exciting because I don’t know exactly where I will end up.  Today I was doing research in the National Library of Ireland.   One set of records that I really wanted is no longer available! Due to the fight for Irish Independence in 1922.   But I did get a couple of ideas of other record groups to search.  Trouble is it is going to take some time to really research those record groups.  I need to look at the Quaker meeting minutes for Mountmellick and some deeds for the same area for the Nevil or Neville connection!

