McCool twigs on my family tree – ancestors of Hiram Hendrix/Hendricks

Hiram A. Hendrix my GG Grandfather

Hiram A. Hendrix my GG Grandfather

Hiram Anthony Hendrix my Great-Great Grandfather was born in 1846 in Springfield, Sangamon County IL. Hiram died in 1910 in Lexington, Dawson County Nebraska.

I have been working today getting ready for the Kansas City Irish Fest.  One of Hiram’s ancestors (and mine too) was John McCool who was born, 1675 in Toberhead, County Antrim, Ireland. John McCool is my 8th Great Grandfather.

Several years ago I was preparing for a genealogy talk and I remembered my genealogy instructor saying that you need to know the religion of your Irish ancestor to do successful research!  How do you figure out what religion your 8th Great Grandfather was?  Well, I ‘Googled’ him and up popped twenty pages of documentation telling the whole story about John McCool(McCoole) getting in trouble with the Church of Ireland because he wouldn’t pay the tithe to the Church.

John McCool b. 1675 and Oliva had seven children

John Adams McCool born 1709 married Anna Wright

John Adams McCool jr. born 1740 married Deborah Jay

Grace McCool born 1770 married Henry Mercer Babb

Harriet Babb born 1801 married Hiram Neville

Mary Elizabeth Neville born 1825 married Samuel Hendrix (Hendricks)

Hiram Anthony Hendrix born 1846 married Nancy Blue

Sadie Bell Hendrix born 1884 married Thomas Edgar Morgan – (I remember this great-Grandma)

Lucille Adeline Morgan born 1908 married William Thomas Saulsbury

Frances VerJean Saulsbury – my mother – living

ME!

There are so many cousins out there – I would love to meet some!

I forgot to mention – these are mother’s Neville “twigs” – and not my father’s Neville “twigs”.

 

 

 

 

 

