Happy St. Patrick’s Day – Today is a Celebration of Heritage and Family!

Robert Emmett McTygue

Robert Emmett McTygue

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all.  Today is a celebration of family and heritage.  I stop to remember my father – Robert Emmett McTygue who was born on Halloween 1924 and went home to God on St. Patrick’s Day 2013.

All of my father’s ancestors came from Ireland and I have had so much fun learning about them.  I remember going to Ireland with my parents and being able to introduce Dad to cousins that he had never met.  We had such fun.

Bob McTygue & Tom Condron

This is a picture of my father and Tom Condron taken in 1990 in Lynally, Offaly- I think Dad looks more like Tom than some of his brothers.  Those Neville genes are very strong.

My father was very proud of his Irish heritage and he passed that love of Ireland, history and family to me.

Thank you Dad – you were the best!

